It’s Showtime!

I have been a busy bee lately with a whole bunch of shows on at the moment. Here they are in order!

2013 – MAY – Group show at Karen 19 Gallery, Gold Coast. This one opened May 31st and will run for a month. It’s a whole bunch of artists from the 19 Karen Gallery and all the art is inspired by the Cirque du Soleil. The show is being held at the Sofitel Broadbeach on the Gold Coast and will run for a month.

2013 – JUNE – Solo Show (Whippers and Snappers) at Old John’s, Coffs Harbour, NSW . This is a small solo show that will coincide with the relaunch of Old John’s. The owner Steve Bush has several magazines and used to run a gallery in the same spot. Now it’s a really cool Melbourne style cafe bar that will host art shows every month. At the same time in Coffs Harbour, I got the cover and a two page spread in Coffs Coast Focus magazine. Very cool! The show opens June 6th and runs for a month.

2013 – JUNE – Selected as finalist for Northern Rivers Portrait Prize held at the Lismore Regional Gallery, NSW. This is such a great competition. It’s the second time I’ve made it in and that is totally thrilling. I’m really looking forward to the opening on June 8th because I love seeing who every one chose as a subject and how they interpret it. I chose Mandy Nolan, a well known Byronshire comedian and writer. I’m so happy with my piece!

2013 – JUNE – Group show at Brunswick Street Gallery, Melbourne. This show will open June 14th. I’m submitting two or three pieces and it’s about the portrait reinterpreted. I am not going to be able to make the opening which is a bummer, but I’m hoping to get down for the next one.

2013 – JULY – Group show at Brunswick Street Gallery, Melbourne. I am still working on eight pieces for this show. It’s an urban art show so I’m thinking of doing some pieces that are a little darker and more twisted. It opens July 19th and I’m really hoping that I can make it down for that one.

 

The photos below are from the opening of the Art of Cirque du Soleil show and were taken by Kylie Cox.

Leave a Reply

